Cooking · Pintrest Win/Fail

Pintrest Win/Fail: Peach Edition

IMG_1676

A few weeks ago, I went to the State Fair, where I managed to find a stand selling local peaches!  I adore peaches, they’re the quintessential fruit of summer for me, and they were $6 a peck, so you can’t beat that.  Naturally, as soon as I got home, I looked up new things to try with them.

IMG_1714

Okay, that’s a lie, first I sliced one up to make peach tea.

Alright, but my first project was Old Fashioned Peach Crumble.  Crumbles are a great alternative to pies, because there’s very little prep-work to be done.  I don’t have to worry about crusts or making anything head of time, and there’s tons of gluten-free versions.  (Not a worry for me tonight, but it is when I eat with my family.)IMG_1729

Making the crumble according to the recipe was pretty easy; most of it could be mixed right there in the pan, so the whole thing went quick!

But hey, you know what the recipe didn’t tell me to do? Peel the peaches! Admittedly, I should have known to do that, I’ve cooked with these before.  I just forgot. Turns out peach skins taste fine when you eat them raw but get sour and weird if you leave them in your pie.

These were some huge peaches, though, so I had to find something else to do with the leftovers.  The answer? Peach Fritters!

Considering I grew up in the South(ish), it’s almost embarrassing how infrequently I’ve eaten fritters, so I figured it was time to change that.  Besides, who doesn’t love fried fruit?

IMG_1738

Mixing up the fritter batter took no time at all (I finished that and the cooking before the crumble was done), and then I got to pull out the Fry Daddy.  I use this thing more than I should probably admit to, but hot damn it’s convenient to have a tiny frier at home.  There is no vegetable I know that can’t be made tastier with a bit of deep frying.

Speaking of vegetables, I had some time left while the crumble cooked, so throw in some fried zucchini just for fun. 🙂

IMG_1740

And, that was it!  So, do I think those Pintrest recipes won or failed?  Well, they’re certainly not as pretty as the pictures, but….yeah, no, I got nothing.  I failed to peel my peaches and I honestly have no idea why my fritters were so lumpy instead of crisp as the picture looked.  But, there’s still some peaches left out at the farm, so maybe I’ll have a chance to try again!

FullSizeRender 4

Leave a comment